Nitwit Oddment Blubber Tweak!

Harry PotterAt the risk of revealing myself to be an even greater nerd, I will take this time to pay homage to one of my greatest (and lifelong) loves–

Harry Potter.

Oh yeah, I went there.

I literally spent the entire day of my eleventh birthday outside scanning the skies for owls with a pair of binoculars in my hopeful little hands. I used to read each book over and over again, living in the fine print and drinking in all that was buried in between. It’s been a long time since then, but I have to say that a part of me misses it.

I think I will always have a thing for Harry Potter, despite its faults (that horribly unnecessary epilogue… Albus Severus… dear lord) and in spite of my age (oh, it’s been over a decade since JK Rowling began to write it).

No other book has characters I love so dearly. No other author has made me care quite as much as JK Rowling has. Harry Potter made me read more deeply and write more joyfully. So much of my youth has been molded and framed by this series, and regardless of what judgment or humor comes to your mind from such an embarrassing truth, I just have to say it.

It’s funny how much a book can change you.

To be honest, I don’t really like the movies all that much. They can’t possibly compare, and I don’t really expect them to. Some stories you can never quite catch on a big screen. Still, they remind me enough of the books to stir up shadows of those giddy feelings I felt each time I waited in line for the latest installment. So now that the 6th movie has finally arrived, and ABC Family has been playing Harry Potter movies for the past week, I can’t help but remember how much it meant– how much it still means.

A good book is a beautiful thing. And in this case, there are seven.

About Booki
"Somewhere man must know that self-perception is the most frightening of all human observations. He must know that when a man faces himself, he is looking into an abyss."

One Response to Nitwit Oddment Blubber Tweak!

  1. caseyucsd says:

    Haha Booki I love how there is so much heart and emotion in this post. Do you think you’d still be a lit major if it wasn’t for Harry Potter?

Leave a Reply

