Dear 2009

You were a hell of a year. Or is it, you were a year of hell? That’s dramatic and I won’t put that on you. But you were quite the little bugger, I have to say.

I can’t really decide if you were good or bad, and maybe I’ll never be able to make that call, but let’s face it, you shoved me around a bit. And I guess I survived your biting humor and your clever paradoxes. I made it through all your prodding and poking. I soldiered on in spite of your cruel revelations and your painful truths. That must mean I’ve been made better under your watch, so I guess I’m glad you were what you were.

But 2009, I’m happy it’s over between us. You were nothing like I expected you to be. I never knew a year so confusing. In my mind, I can see all the ways you’ve pained me and all the times you’ve given me peace. I can relive all our moments and retrace all our twisted paths, but I think instead, I’ll just let you go with limited reflection. I’ll just accept you for what you were and love you nonetheless.

This morning, I saw the dawn of 2010. Let’s hope it treats us well.

Yours Truly,

Booki

It was good to see the dawn of 2010. Let’s hope it treats me well.

About Booki
"Somewhere man must know that self-perception is the most frightening of all human observations. He must know that when a man faces himself, he is looking into an abyss."

Leave a Reply

