Beringer.

Reasons Why I Like this Commercial:

1. Behold, the other Gondry.

I liked Michel Gondry from the very first time I saw Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Then, somewhere along the way, I saw a video of how he faked solving a Rubik’s cube with his feet. I just think  he’s cool. And he strikes me as a really intelligent, clever director, which is greatly appreciated. But this isn’t about Michel Gondry because it was actually Olivier Gondry who directed this commercial (and a bunch of  other really great commercials/music videos). I wonder if artistic vision is a hereditary trait. Some families have all the talent.

2. Wine wine, so very fine!

I never used to like wine. My mother would give me sips of it at her dinner parties and I thought adults had the worst taste buds ever. But, years later, here I am. This past Christmas, Daisy brought over a really really nice (and by nice, I mean criminally pricey) bottle of wine. Daisy is this pharmacist at the Motion Picture Hospital where my mom works. She is proud, single, and independent. She reviews fancy restaurants and travels around the world in her spare time. I am certain she lives in some quaint, well-decorated apartment full of books and wine and all sorts of things that fabulously single and well-employed people have.

So Daisy brings this legendary bottle over for dinner because she  doesn’t have children and can afford to be generous with her lavish spendings. Plus, she says wine is better with company. I don’t argue with her. She pours me a glass. She hasn’t seen me since before I turned 21; I can finally pick out my own wine glass and join the party party. But I must provide a disclaimer– I am no wine connoisseur. I’m trying to refine my tastes, but up until this point, it all tastes the same to me. I swirl it around, the dark red liquid sliding smoothly against the curve of the glass. It looks good, but I’m skeptical. Will this wine really be any different? Can my common, college-student taste buds recognize quality? I give it  one last look and raise the edge of the glass to my lips.

It was the best wine I have ever tasted in my life. So I guess now I like wine.

3. Advertising art, art advertising?

I know that we live in a dangerous consumer culture and advertisers are manipulating us with clever marketing strategies and yada yada yada. It’s easy to forget since I very rarely mention it here, but the other half of my double major is Communication. So yeah, I get it. But is it possible to enjoy a commercial, even knowing its intentions? Can advertising be stripped down to art, even as it’s trying to sell you something? I don’t know if the fact that this is a commercial takes away from the fact that it is also really lovely. It doesn’t for me.

Lately, I’ve been really into this whole art movement of taking paper and making it 3D. It’s like the page coming alive. Watch this. So in the end, I don’t really care that it targets me as a consumer or that it’s a product of good advertising. My point is, this is a great commercial– for the number of times I’ve watched it, for the way I keep remembering it later, for all the things it makes me want and wonder as I watch it. And for the fact that, in my grave procrastination, I am writing an entire blog about it.

Looks like I’m sold.

About Booki
"Somewhere man must know that self-perception is the most frightening of all human observations. He must know that when a man faces himself, he is looking into an abyss."

Leave a Reply

